My ERASMUS experience

My Erasmus in Oxford

I’m an Erasmus postgrad student from the University of Bologna and I have a master’s degree in Modern languages and Postcolonial Literatures.

In my time at the library, I have gained valuable experience of a library assistant’s key responsibilities, which include: dealing with general enquiries, writing on the Library blog; providing assistance with the self-issue terminal, photocopiers and computers; locating material and helping readers find books on the shelves, using the ALEPH circulation module for registration and renewing.

Thanks to Lucile’s patience and professionality I could learn easily and I never felt inadequate to the role. I am also very thankful for her support as she let me write an article for the Creative Multilingualism Blog, which I’m very proud of.

During these three months, I have been given the chance to help students preparing for their final OPAL test in Italian; I used to teach English or French to Italian speakers and the issues I had to face on this occasion were very different. My passion for languages and learning has now become even stronger and I’m determined to pursue a career in language teaching.

I also greatly enjoyed helping to induct potential students during the Oxford University open days, as I could show them how learning a new language can be a thrilling experience.

Last but not least, I’d like to thank Christine Mitchell, Lucile Deslignères, Sarah Cook and Martin Hurajt, who have been extremely kind and supportive; they made my stay at the Language Centre a unique experience whose memory I will always treasure.

Arrivederci!!

Marta Triberio – Erasmus student

This entry was posted in Library, News, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

