My Work Experience Week (Ryan Perrett)

I have thoroughly enjoyed my work experience here at the University of Oxford Language Centre. I have been able to work with several experienced and professional individuals who have provided me with opportunities to further my knowledge of the world of work in many different ways.

I have primarily worked with Mrs Christine Mitchell, the administrator at the language centre, performing tasks such as transferring data from a spread sheet to a word document, creating schedules, filing documents, and even calling a company to order supplies that were running low. Through this, I have been able to see that there is more work that needs to be done at the language centre than merely teaching classes, but it requires effort and organisation to make sure that everyone is in the right places at the correct time with all of the appropriate materials to succeed in performing the necessary tasks.

I have also worked with the IT officer, Martin, in creating new web pages on web learn to assist a new group that was formed. He also instructed me on how he created the website using html and css in order to easily manipulate the webpage into displaying what you want.

I have worked with Geoff, the technical officer, who I worked with in selecting an appropriate CCTV system to install. He also brought me along during an access audit which was eye opening to me as it revealed how you must think about guaranteeing the same facilities for everyone, which is extremely critical as no one should ever be denied an opportunity to learn.

Moreover, I have worked with Lucile, the librarian, on sorting books into the correct language, the correct alphabetical order. She also gave me a tour around the library, which allowed me to see how they organised it in the simplest way possible to assist students in finding books.

library 003

I have also attended several classes in the language centre giving me the opportunity to not only further my interest in languages, but also granting me the ability to see how classes are run and what the teachers have to do in order to give their students the best education possible. I even attended an oral exam given by one student, and it allowed me to see how teachers assist their students in pressure situations, and the student who performed in the situation was absolutely excellent.

Overall, I have been thrilled by my experiences at the Language Centre, it has been a very worthwhile week in which I have been able to procure many different skills for work that I might do in the future. I want to thank those at d’Overbroecks who set this opportunity up for me, but more than that I want to thank everyone who assisted me at the language centre, who made this a fruitful and enjoyable experience I will never forget.

Ryan Perrett

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

